This site uses cookies to improve your experience, to show relevant advertising, and as part of the online booking process. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. By continuing without changing your settings, we'll assume you're happy to accept cookies.

advice on trip planning

By Joshua
2011-11-09 22:13:42

Hello There, 
I am a USA-based spirits journalist planning a QUICK trip to Dublin at the end of this month. I managed to eke this trip out on the heels of a longer UK-trip. I have never been to Ireland before and so do not have a great idea of what is realistic to squeeze into my schedule. If someone there could help me determine if this is overly ambitious, please do so. 
OPTION #1 Itinerary 
We will arrive at the end of day on Tuesday 29 November 2011. My wife and I intend to go to the Guinness factory that evening (already booked) for the final tour of the day. Our current thinking is to drive down to Co. Cork that night and begin early Wednesday morning (30 November) at the Midleton Distillery. My thinking was that we would then make our way back north and visit the Kilbeggan Distillery in Co. Westmeath, and then head back to Dublin to catch the final tour of the Old Jameson Distillery in Dublin. The next morning (Thursday 1 December) we would drive north to the Cooley Distillery in Dundalk, Co. Louth for an early start, returning to Dublin directly afterwards, spending the rest of the day in Dublin. We fly out very early the next day (Friday 2 December). 
I am in the process of organizing media visits for Midleton, Kilbeggan, Jameson (in Dublin), and Cooley. My only question: would this likely make for an overly ambitious itinerary? 
OPTION #2 Itinerary 
As itinerary #1 (above) except that we would skip one of the distillery visits (either Midleton or Kilbeggan or Cooley). If we skip Midleton, we will likley skip Co. Cork on this trip.