This site uses cookies to improve your experience, to show relevant advertising, and as part of the online booking process. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. By continuing without changing your settings, we'll assume you're happy to accept cookies.

Towns and Areas in County Laois

  • Abbeyleix - This town was designed by the first Viscount of Vesci in the 18th century although there has been a ...
  • Aghaboe - The Irish name translates as ' The Land of the Cow'. An ancient abbey, built by monks in the 6th cen...
  • Arless
  • Ballacolla
  • Ballaghmore
  • Ballickmoyler
  • Ballinakill - The monument in the town centre, dedicated to the local men who died in the 1798 denotes Ballinakill...
  • Ballyadams - The remains of the five storey castle with it's spiral stone staircase and two tall towers, the high...
  • Ballybrittas - The towns name means ' town of the fortified place'. The town boasts a quaint thatched cottage museu...
  • Ballybrophy
  • Ballyfin - Ballyfin house was built in 1826 by the 9th baronet Sir Charles Coote. The drawing room of the house...
  • Ballyhide
  • Ballyhuppahane
  • Ballylinan
  • Ballyroan
  • Barrowhouse village
  • Borris-in-Ossory
  • Castleconor
  • Castletown - The castle from which this town takes it's name was built in the 13th century, it was taken by the F...
  • Clonaghadoo
  • Clonaslee
  • Clonnagh - Founded in the 7th century by St. Fintan, the monastery which stood on the site of this town was one...
  • Crettyard
  • Cullohill
  • Donaghmore - Associated originally with an early medieval church and subsequently with an early Norman fortificat...
  • Durrow - Originally a Norman borough town. In the middle of the seventeenth century the Ormonds made it part ...
  • Emo - This fine Georgian mansion was built by James Gandon, renowned builder of the Four Courts and the Cu...
  • Errill
  • Jamestown
  • Kilbricken
  • Killenard
  • Killeshin - Killeshin was an important centre for learning and culture as early as the 6th century when St Comgh...
  • Mountmellick - The Irish name translates as 'soft bogland'. Mountmellick lies in a bend in the River Owenass, almos...
  • Mountrath - Mounthrath in times gone by was a prominent industrial town with a thriving ironworks, cotton mill a...
  • Newtown
  • New Inn
  • Portarlington - This town is divided into two counties by the River Barrow, Laois and Offaly. The most historically ...
  • Portlaoise - A prosperous commercial point, principal town and administrative centre of the county, situated on t...
  • Raheen
  • Rathdowney
  • Rosenallis
  • Shanahoe
  • Sletty
  • Spink
  • Stradbally - Every August this town holds its annual flower festival and steam rally held by the Irish Steam Pres...
  • The Swan
  • Timahoe - The towns name means ' the house of Mochua'. Inhabited by a colony of rooks, the 96ft tall round tow...
  • Vicarstown

Find Accommodation


Ireland Events